Newsletter Sunday 19th July 2015

Parish Newsletter

19 July 2015

Sixteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

FIRST READING

A reading from the prophet Jeremiah.

The remnant of my flock I will gather and I will raise up shepherds to look after them.

Doom for the shepherds who allow the flock of my pasture to be destroyed and scattered – it is the Lord who speaks! This, therefore, is what the Lord, the God of Israel, says about the shepherds in charge of my people: You have let my flock be scattered and go wandering and have not taken care of them. Right, I will take care of you for your misdeeds – it is the Lord who speaks! But the remnant of my flock I myself will gather from all the countries where I have dispersed them, and will bring them back to their pastures: they shall be fruitful and increase in numbers. I will raise up shepherds to look after them and pasture them; no fear, no terror for them any more; not one shall be lost – it is the Lord who speaks!   See, the days are coming – it is the Lord who speaks when I will raise a virtuous Branch for David, who will reign as true king and be wise, practising honesty and integrity in the land. In his days Judah will be saved and Israel dwell in confidence. And this is the name he will be called: The Lord-our-integrity.’

This is the word of the Lord.

 

RESPONSORIAL PSALM

[Response]: The Lord is my shepherd;

there is nothing I shall want.

The Lord is my shepherd; You have prepared a banquet for me there is nothing I shall want. in the sight of my foes. Fresh and green are the pastures My head you have anointed with oil; where he gives me repose. my cup is overflowing. [R]

Near restful waters he leads me, to revive my drooping spirit. [R]

He guides me along the right path; Surely goodness and kindness shall follow me he is true to his name. all the days of my life. If I should walk in the valley of darkness In the Lord’s own house shall I dwell no evil would I fear. for ever and ever. [R]

You are there with your crook and your staff; with these you give me comfort. [R]

 SECOND READING

A reading from the second letter of St Paul to the Esphesians.

Christ Jesus is the peace between us, and has made the two into one. In Christ Jesus, you that used to be so far apart from us have been brought very close, by the blood of Christ. For he is the peace between us, and has made the two into one and broken down the barrier which used to keep them apart, actually destroying in his own person the hostility caused by the rules and decrees of the Law. This was to create one single New Man in himself out of the two of them and by restoring peace through the cross, to unite them both in a single Body and reconcile them with God. In his own person he killed the hostility. Later he came to bring the good news of peace, peace to you who were far away and peace to those who were near at hand. Through him, both of us have in the one Spirit our way to come to the Father.

This is the word of the Lord.

 

GOSPEL ACCLAMATION

Alleluia, alleluia! The sheep that belong to me listen to my voice, says the Lord, I know them and they follow me. Alleluia!

 

GOSPEL

A reading from the holy Gospel according to Mark.

They were like sheep without a shepherd.

The apostles rejoined Jesus and told him all they had done and taught. Then he said to them, ‘You must come away to some lonely place all by yourselves and rest for a while’; for there were so many coming and going that the apostles had no time even to eat. So they went off in a boat to a lonely place where they could be by themselves. But people saw them going, and many could guess where; and from every town they all hurried to the place on foot and reached it before them. So as he stepped ashore he saw a large crowd; and he took pity on them because they were like sheep without a shepherd, and he set himself to teach them at some length.

This is the Gospel of the Lord

 

The Little Sisters of the Assumption first arrived in Cork on the 28th May 1899. A group of six, led by Mother Marie Marthe de Jesus. Three from England and two from Ireland. They set up residence in Grenville Place, as this proved to be unsuitable. On 26th April a permanent home was offered by Bishop O’ Callaghan to the Sisters and invited them to view the property at Watercourse Mill Rd, also known as Kellers Lane in Blackpool. Bishop O’ Callaghan had recently purchased the house named Farrancleary in the hope of bringing some benefit to the people of Blackpool. It also included an old stone Mill that was used as a glue factory. Hardly suited for a Convent, but it was. The sisters moved in on the 17th July 1906. The house having been repaired to living conditions by the kindness of a local builder, Mr Edmond O’ Flynn of no 53 Watercourse Rd, who restored the premises free of charge.

The Sisters remained in the Convent on Assumption Rd until 2004. In 2006 the Sisters found a new home in St Francis Gardens which is part of Respond Housing where six of them remain to this present day. Some of the work carried out by the Sisters included visiting the sick in their own homes specifically terminally ill Mothers. The Blackpool Community Centre in Blackpool was established in 1968 and the Sisters of the Assumption were a very large part of the founding of this Centre.

There will be Mass on Thursday 23rd July in the Church of the Annunciation to celebrate the 150th Anniversary of the Little Sisters of the Assumption and all are welcome to attend.

PENITENTIAL ACT A

I confess to almighty God and to you, my brothers and sisters, that I have greatly sinned in my thoughts and in my words, in what I have done and in what I have failed to do, through my fault, through my fault, through my most grievous fault; therefore I ask blessed Mary ever-Virgin, all the Angels and Saints, and you, my brothers and sisters, to pray for me to the Lord our God.

APOSTLES’ CREED

I believe in God, the Father almighty, Creator of heaven and earth, and in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord, who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the Virgin Mary, (bow) Suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died and was buried; He descended into hell; on the third day he rose again from the dead; He ascended into heaven, and is seated at the right hand of God the Father almighty; from there he will come to judge the living and the dead. I believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy Catholic Church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and life everlasting.

Amen.

Last weeks’ Offertory Collection from the three churches of the parish came to 2,422. Sincere thanks for your generous support. Last week’s Diocesan Quarterly Collection from the three churches of the parish came to 1,760. Sincere thanks for your generous support.

Mass in the three churches of the Parish will be celebrated in memory of Canon Hodnett

Canon Vincent Hodnett P. P. (1945 – 2015)

Ordained 17th June 1970, The Lough Church.

1970 – Temporary Appointment -Westminister.

1975 – C.C. Togher Parish, Cork.

1982 – C.C. Bantry, Co. Cork.

1988 – Chaplain to C.U.H.

1996 – C.C. Douglas, Cork.

1999 – P.P. Blackpool /

The Glen / Ballyvolane, Cork.

2005 – P.P. The Lough, Cork.

Invitation

The Little Sisters of the Assumption are celebrating 150 years of the Foundation of the Congregation. To mark the occasion Mass will be celebrated on Thursday 23rd July 2015 at 7.30pm in the Church of the Annunciation  Blackpool. Light refreshments in the Community Centre. All welcome.

The Masses in Blackpool Church this weekend on behalf of the Parish are being offered for the late Canon Vincent Hodnett who died on April 23rd 2015. May he rest in peace

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

