Parish Newsletter April 13 2014

Palm Sunday of the Passion of the Lord

FIRST READING
A reading from the prophet Isaiah..
I did not cover my face against insult v- I know I shall not be shamed.
The Lord has given me a disciple’s tongue. So that I may know how to reply to the wearied he provides me
with speech. Each morning he wakes me to hear, to listen like a disciple. The Lord has opened my ear. For
my part, I made no resistance, neither did I turn away. I offered my back to those who struck me, my cheeks
to those who tore at my beard; I did not cover my face against insult and spittle. The Lord comes to my help,
so that I am untouched by the insults. So, too, I set my face like flint; I know I shall not be shamed.
This is the word of the Lord.

RESPONSORIAL PSALM
[Response]: With the Lord there is mercy and fullness of redemption.
All who see me deride me, They divide my clothing among them.
They curl their lips, they toss their heads. They cast lots for my robe.
‘He trusted in the Lord, let him save him; O Lord, do not leave me alone,
let him release him if this is his friend.’
R.
my strength, make haste to help me!
R.
Many dogs have surrounded me, I will tell of your name to my brethren
a band of the wicked beset me. and praise you where they are assembled.
They tear holes in my hands and my feet. ‘You who fear the Lord give him praise;
I can count every one of my bones.
R.
all sons of Jacob, give him glory.
Revere him, Israel’s sons.’
R.

SECOND READING
A reading from the letter of St. Paul to the Philippians
He humbled himself, but God raised him high.
His state was divine, yet Christ Jesus did not cling to his equality with God but emptied himself to assume the
condition of a slave, and became as men are, and being as all men are, he was humbler yet, even to accepting death,
death on a cross.
But God raised him high and gave him the name which is above all other names so that all beings in the heavens, on
earth and in the underworld, should bend the knee at the name of Jesus and that every tongue should acclaim Jesus
Christ as Lord, to the glory of God the Father.
This is the word of the Lord.

GOSPEL ACCLAMATION
Glory and praise to you, O Christ!
Christ was humbler yet, even to accepting death, death on a cross.
But God raised him high and gave him the name which is above all names.
Glory and praise to you, O Christ

PRAYERS OF THE FAITHFUL
Celebrant’s Introduction:
Let us offer prayers to the Lord, who hears his people when they call.
Intercessions:
1. We pray for the whole Church. May the Word of God
during Holy Week influence the lives of the faithful and
bear fruit in acts of kindness and generosity,
forgiveness and love.
Lord, hear us………
2. We pray for peace in the holy city of Jerusalem; and for a
lasting settlement between Israel and Palestine.
Lord, hear us………
3. We pray for all who have suffered for their faith in Christ;
that they may persevere in that faith and find new
strength in the Lord’s Passion and Resurrection.
Lord, hear us………
4. We pray for the people of Malawi; that the generous
work of Trócaire may help to renew their strength and
help them to build a brighter future for themselves and
future generations.
Lord, hear us………
5. We pray for the terminally ill; that they may be spiritually
strengthened and that those who care for them may be
blessed with understanding, compassion and wisdom.
Lord, hear us………
6. We pray for those who have died from hunger, violence
and war. As they share in Christ’s passion, may the
glory of the resurrection be their lasting joy.
Lord, hear us………
Celebrant:
God of compassion, your love for us is without
bounds. We ask you to grant our requests to you, which
we make in the name of Jesus, who suffered, died and rose
for our salvation. Amen.

THE PARISH OF BLACKPOOL, THE GLEN AND BALLYVOLANE RESTORATION PROJECT UPDATE
Last weeks’ Offertory Collection from the three churches of the parish came to €2,507.
Sincere thanks for your generous support.

Last weeks’ second collection for Diocesan Quarterly from
the three churches of the parish came to €1,987.
Sincere thanks for your generous support.

Plaque: €200
Donation: €50

 

 WE REMEMBER AND PRAY FOR THOSE RECENTLY DECEASED:
Tadgh Sheehan
Paddy Cronin
David Kenny

WE WELCOME INTO THE CHRISTIAN FAMILY THOSE
RECENTLY BAPTISED:
Kody Philip O’Riordan
Zara Chino Iloanusi

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

