SECOND READING

A reading from the first letter of St Paul to Timothy.
All there is to come now is the crown of righteousness reserved for me.
My life is already being poured away as a libation, and the time has come for
me to be gone. I have fought the good fight to the end; I have run the race to the
finish; I have kept the faith; all there is to come now is the crown of
righteousness reserved for me, which the Lord, the righteous judge, will give to
me on that Day; and not only to me but to all those who have longed for his
Appearing.
The first time I had to present my defence, there was not a single witness to
support me. Every one of them deserted me – may they not be held accountable
for it. But the Lord stood by me and gave me power, so that through me the
whole message might be proclaimed for all the pagans to hear; and so I was
rescued from the lion’s mouth. The Lord will rescue me from all evil attempts
on me, and bring me safely to his heavenly kingdom. To him be glory for ever
and ever. Amen.
This is the word of the Lord.
GOSPEL ACCLAMATION
Alleluia, alleluia!
Blessed are you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth,
for revealing the mysteries of the kingdom to mere children. Alleluia!
GOSPEL
A reading from the holy Gospel according to Luke.
The publican went home at rights with God; the Pharisee did not.
Jesus spoke the following parable to some people who prided themselves on
being virtuous and despised everyone else. Two men went up to the Temple to
pray, one a Pharisee, the other a tax collector. The Pharisee stood there and said
this prayer to himself, “I thank you, God, that I am not grasping, unjust,
adulterous like the rest of mankind, and particularly that I am not like this tax
collector here. I fast twice a week; I pay tithes on all I get.” The tax collector
stood some distance away, not daring even to raise his eyes to heaven; but he
beat his breast and said, “God, be merciful to me, a sinner.” This man, I tell you,
went home again at rights with God; the other did not. For everyone who exalts
himself will be humbled, but the man who humbles himself will be exalted.”
This is the Gospel of the Lord.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

